Mohamed Salah, Asaisat Oshoala Crowned ‘African Best Players’ at CAF Awards (See Full List)

25-year old Egyptian playmaker, Mohamed Salah who plays for English side, Liverpool has picked the African Player of the Year 2017 at the Aiteo CAF Awards Gala 2017, held on Thursday, 4 January 2018, at the International Conference Centre in Accra, Ghana. 

Salah who etched his name into football history after being crowned with the topmost prize, fended off opposition from club-mate Sadio Mane of Senegal and Gabonese Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, winner in 2015, to become the first Egyptian to win the most prestigious individual honour in African football. He polled 625 points, against 507 from Mane whilst Aubameyang finished a distant third with 311 points.


Nigerian female footballer, Asisat Oshoala was also crowned the Women’s Player of the Year for the third time, after 2014 and 2016. She beat Cameroonian Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene and Chrestina Kgatlana of South Africa to the top prize.


Egypt was named National Team of the Year and Argentina-born trainer, Hector Cuper, Coach of the Year.


There were also musical performances from Toofan from Togo, DR Congo’s Fally Ipupa, and Nigerian septet of Patoranking, Wizkid, Tiwa Savage, Olamide, Phyno and Flavour.


Full list of winners:


African Player of the Year

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)


Women’s Player of the Year

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian)


Youth Player of the Year

Patson Daka (Zambia & Liefering)


Coach of the Year

Hector Cuper (Egypt)


Club of the Year

Wydad Athletic Club


National Team of the Year



Women’s National Team of the Year

South Africa



Ibrahim Sunday (Ghana)


Platinum Award

Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo – President of Ghana

George Weah – President-elect of Liberia & former World, Africa and European Player of the Year


Fans’ Finest XI

Goalkeeper: Aymen Mathlouthi (Tunisia & Etoile du Sahel)

Defenders: Ahmed Fathi (Egypt & Al Ahly), Eric Bailly (Cote d’Ivoire & Manchester United), Ali Maaloul (Tunisia & Al Ahly)

Midfielders: Mohamed Ounnajem (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club), Karim El Ahmadi (Morocco & Feyenoord), Junior Ajayi (Nigeria & Al Ahly), Achraf Bencharki (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)

Forwards: Khalid Boutaib (Morocco & Yeni Malatyaspor), Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool), Taha Yassine Khenissi (Tunisia & Esperance)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *