INEC declares APC’s Gboyega Oyetola winner of Osun governorship election

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has declared Gboyega Oyetola of the APC as winner of the governorship election in Osun State which held on Thursday.

Oyetola polled a total of 255,505 votes after the collation of the results of the supplementary election in seven polling units across four local governments, while PDP’s Ademola Adeleke polled a total of 255,023 votes to come second.

At the end of last Satuday’s ballot, Adeleke scored the highest number of votes, beating Oyetola with 353 votes but INEC declared the election inconclusive and ordered a rerun because the number of cancelled votes in the seven polling units was far higher than the margin by which Adeleke beat Oyetola. Following this supplementary votes on Thursday, Oyetola overtook and beat Adeleke with a total margin of 482 votes.

Besides leading in the number of votes cast, the APC also won a total of 16 local governments as against 11 won by the PDP.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *